Knowledge is power #2

Just because someone sits in a wheelchair does not mean they are also hard of hearing!

I was at the vets getting my cat updated on her vaccines. The veterinarian’s assistant came into the exam room to get Donka, and noticeably raised her voice when she talked to me.  Then my personal assistant asked her a question, and the veterinary assistant’s voice went back down to a normal octave. 

It was blatantly obvious, however until my personal assistant pointed it out to me, I was able to ignore it. I think I have grown accustomed to blowing off people’s flagrant misconceptions of me. It is not something that I consider worth getting myself all worked up about!  I figure if I am around people that have any misconceptions about me long enough, they will soon learn that I’m not hard of hearing, or simple minded.

The best advice that I can give you when you are not sure how to treat someone that’s obviously different from you, is to treat the person like you would want to be treated!  I believe that if everyone made treating people with respect an every day pratice, the world would be much more peaceful!  So, now that you know, act it out, and encourage other people to do the same!

One Response

  1. It’s always amazing how prvelelant that misconception is!! Keep”lighting just one little candle” and see how bright the world can become! -K-

Leave a Reply

